Connect with us


Amaechi receives report on 2 accident ships



Amaechi receives report on 2 accident ships

Rotimi Amaechi

Aminat Isah, Abuja

The Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, has received reports of the Marine Board of Inquiry set up to unravel the circumstances surrounding the two separate accidents which involved “MV NIKI C and  MT CHARON” and “MT ELIZIR and MT TANK”.

ROYAL NEWS reports that the two accidents involving the collision of a Greek flagged Bulk Carrier “MV NIKI C and MT CHARON” and “MT ELIXIR and MT TANK” occurred on the 21st December, 2013 at Lagos and 19th October, 2015 along the Bonga Terminal (FPSO) Warri, Delta State respectively.

Receiving the Report on behalf of the Hon. Minister from the President of the Marine Board of Inquiry, Chief Magistrate (Mrs.) Adebisi Femi–Segun, who was represented by the Secretary of the Board, Mr Emmanuel Swanta, the Director of Maritime Safety and Security, (MSS), Mallam Danjuma M. Dauda, commended the efforts of the Board for doing a good job.

He also promised that the Federal Government will study the report with a view to implementing the recommendations in the interest of the country.

Speaking earlier, the Secretary of the Board, Mr Emmanuel Swanta who represented the President of the Marine Board of Inquiry, Chief Magistrate (Mrs.) Adebisi Femi–Segun expressed gratitude to the Government for giving the Board the opportunity to serve Nigeria in that capacity.

She noted that the assignment was enormous due to the magnitude of the incidents, however, with the wealth of experience of the Board members and the support received from the Ministry and other stakeholders, they were able to surmount the challenges they faced during the period of the inquiry.

Members of the Board are: Chief Magistrate (Mrs.) Adebisi O Femi Segun President. Mr Philips Akinfemide FMOT-member, Engr. Omotayo Shogo FMOT   -member, Capt. Oboma David    NIMASA   -member, Engr. Benson Aja – Ukpabi NIMASA -Member, Capt. Daniel Hosea NPA    – Member, Pilot Rasheed Popoola NPA -Member, Barr. Nicholas O. Anya -Member, Emmanuel Ibrahim Swanta-Secretary

Facebook Comments Box


Copyright 2022 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

ROYAL NEWS eCopy March 28, 2022

Latest news