Connect with us


APC wins 27 LGs seats in Imo



The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all the 27 chairmanship seats in the just concluded local government elections in Imo State.

Chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission (ISIEC), Mr. Ethelbert Ebebuchi, revealed this on Sunday in Owerri.

Mr Ebebuchi made the disclosure while announcing the results of the elections at the ISIEC Headquarters along Orlu Road in the state capital.

He announced that the ruling party also won 636 councillorship seats out of the 645 wards in the state.

According to the SIEC chairman, Accord Party, KOWA, and the Young Progressive Party (YPP) won some of the remaining councillorship positions.

He commended the state government, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), security agencies, as well as local and international observers for their efforts towards ensuring the success of the exercise.

Reacting to the outcomes of the elections in a statement shortly after the results were announced, the state governor, Mr Rochas Okorocha, commended ISIEC for the successful conduct of the polls.

He said the electoral body showed that it has the capacity to conduct a free and fair election “without eyebrows being raised”.

Okorocha, who is the APC Governors’ Forum Chairman, congratulated his party and the candidates who participated in the elections on the feat recorded.

He also thanked the people of Imo for coming out to exercise their franchise and conducting themselves peacefully at the polls.

The elections conducted by the electoral body on Saturday were the first in the state in the last seven years.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest news