Connect with us


FG inaugurates governing Boards, Councils of Tertiary Health institutions



The Federal Ministry of Health on Friday in Abuja, inaugurated the
Governing Boards and Councils of some tertiary health institutions, to
strengthen the health sector.

Speaking at the occasion, Minister of Health,Prof Isaac Adewole, urged
the appointees to support the vision and core values of President
Muhammadu Buhari on transparency and accountability.

He said the composition of the membership had been done in conformity
with the laws and Act setting up the various Councils and Boards.

He said their main function was to provide carry out oversight
functions on the management to ensure smooth implementation of
government policies, as well as efficient and effective utilization
of resources.

Adewole however cautioned the appointees against direct involvement in
day-to-day administration of the institutions, saying such function
resides with the Registrars and Chief Executives.

He also advised the appointees to be mindful of the need for efficient
management of scarce resources at all times while discharging their

“It is our expectation that you will strengthen the resource base of
the institutions, increase internally generated revenues and quality
of services and training.

“Everything must be done in accordance with due process, especially
the procurement processes, where the Councils and Boards will provide
oversight,’’ he said.

The minister advised that recruitment of staff should also follow due
process, stressing that the constitutional role of the Federal
Character Commission must be respected and adhered to.

Dr Abosede Ofi, Chairperson NMCN, while responding on behalf of the
appointees, said they would study the laws establishing their
institutions to enable them work in accordance with the rules and due

Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria (NMCN) has 22 members, with
Dr Abosede Ofi as chairman; Dental Technologist Registration Board, 12
members, with Mr Vincent Ezeasor as chairman and the Chartered Chemist
of Nigeria, 17 members, with Prof.Okieimen Ebhodahe as chairman.

Others are 18 – member Institute of Public Analyst of Nigeria, with Dr Dahiru Adamau as chairman, 19-member Dental Therapist Registration
Board, with Malam Jariri Saulawa as chairman, as well as 13-member
Radiographers Registration Board, with Mr AFK Bakare as chairman.

Facebook Comments Box
Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *