Connect with us


FG names varsity after late Adebayo



FG names varsity after late Adebayo,

By Idowu Ariwodola

The Federal University, Oye Ekiti, has been re-named Adeyinka Adebayo University, after the late military governor of the defunct  Western Region.

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo made this known on Saturday at the funeral service held for the late elder statesman at All Saints Anglican Church, Iyin-Ekiti.

According to Osinbajo, the resolve to honour the late general was as a result of his exemplary leadership qualities and his astute belief  in the peaceful existence of the country.

Osinbajo recalled how the late Adebayo’s technical advice to the then military government helped to put the federal  troops  ahead of the  rebels  during the civil war in  1966.

He said were it  not for the bravery and exceptional military professionalism exhibited by Adebayo, Nigeria would probably not be a united nation today.


In his sermon preceding the burial, the Primate of the Anglican Church of Nigeria, Nicholas Okoh, said though the exit of Adebayo at 89 may be sad and unpleasant to many, death was  a necessity that no mortal could  avoid.

Okoh, who was represented by the Dean, Church of  Nigeria and Archbishop of  Ondo Province, George Lasebikan,  said it was saddening that many Nigerians were desperate to acquire wealth at all cost.

He urged Nigerians to  change their attitude to life and  embrace humility and contentment for the nation to move forward.

Dignitaries at the burial service included  governors of Ekiti, Ayo Fayose; Oyo, Sen. Abiola Ajimobi; Ogun, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun; Edo, Godwin Obaseki; and Ondo, Mr  Rotimi Akeredolu.

Also present were former governor of Ekiti, Dr Kayode Fayemi, as well as his Edo  and Ogun counterparts, Mr Adams Oshiomhole and Chief Gbenga Daniel respectively.


Also in attendance were former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Chief Olu Falae; retired  Lt.-Gen. Alani Akinriade, retired Lt.-Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika, Amb. Bamidele Olumilua, retired Gen. David Jemibewon, Dr Chris Ngige, and Gen. Ike Nwachukwu.

The list also included business mogul, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun, Minister of Labour, Dr Chris Ngige and Central Bank Governor, Godwin Emefiele.

Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Chief Lucky Igbinedion, retired Gen. Zamani Lekwot, retired Col. Theophilus Bamigboye, Chief James Ibori, Chief Reuben Fasoranti and  Chief Ayo Fasanmi were also there.

NAN reports that the remains of  Adebayo were committed to  mother earth at his private residence in Iyin Ekiti with full military honours.


Facebook Comments Box
Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *