Connect with us


FG vows to check nefarious activities of private jet operators



The Federal Goverment has inaugurated an 8man ministerial task force committee on illegal private chartered operations and related matters to stem the tide of nefarious activities by private aircraft operators.

The minister of aviation and aerospace development, Festus Keyamo, SAN, disclosed this while inaugurating the ministerial task forc committee in Abuja on Thursday, adding that the activities of the private aircraft operators if not checkmate would continue to linger on, as they have been found wanting in laundering, drug trafficking and other illegal activities.

According to Keyamo, “the spike in money laundering, drug trafficking and other illegal activities through the use of private aircrafts in Nigeria necessitated the need to set up ministerial task force after meeting with the regulators and stakeholders within the aviation industry.”

He urged the members of the committee to work diligently to restore confidence in the aviation industry, eliminate illegal operations, and ensure that every flight in the country’ skies adheres to the highest standards of safety and legality.

The Task Force members is made up of professionals of high repute and integrity carefully selected from within and outside the aviation and were charged with the Terms of Reference below.

To take inventory of all Private Non-commercial Flight (PNCF) holders and Air Operator Certificate (AOC) holders; to determine why the practice of illegal charters by PNCF holders persists in the country despite regulatory controls.

To call in all professional licenses of pilots and crew in the country and determine their authenticity and validity; to recommend to the Minister any additional measures to be taken by regulatory agencies to stem the ugly tide; and to recommend appropriate sanctions to be imposed by the regulatory agencies on defaulters.

The Chairman of the Task Force Committee, Capt. Ado Sanusi, while responding to the Minister on behalf of other members appreciated the Minister for the opportunity given to the committee and promised to leave no stone unturned in ensuring that the incidences is overcome.

The members of the Inaugurated Task Force are as follows;Capt. Ado Sanusi, Chairman; Capt. Roland Iyayi, Vice Chairman; Ag. Director of Air Transport, FMA&AD as Secretary.

Others are Theresa A. Babayo (DAYR-NCAA), Member; a nominee from the National Security Adviser, Member; Capt. Daniel Quansah, Member; Capt. Patrick Ogunlowo, Member; and Obafemi Bajomo (SA-HMA), Member.

Facebook Comments Box
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.

Contact: [email protected]

Download ROYAL NEWS app