Connect with us


Four New Private Universities Get Lincenses



Four New Private Universities Get Lincenses

Malam Adamu Adamu

Aminat Isah

The federal government has presented four new private universities with provisional licences.

They are; “Greenfield University, Kaduna; Dominion University, Ibadan; Trinity University, Laloko, and Westland University, Iwo.”

This is in line with the approval given by the Federal Executive Council, (FEC), at its meeting of Wednesday, January 9, 2019.

The Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, at the occasion said the presentation of certificate said the occasion is a manifestation of mutual partnership between government and the private sector in the provision of quality university education to Nigerians.

The Minister, who was represented by the Registrar, Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board(JAMB), Prof. Is-haq Oloyede, explained that the emergence of private universities in Nigeria has paved way for healthy competition bringing about improvement in quality of service delivery in the system.

While congratulating the proprietors of the Universities, Adamu said” the provisional approval for the four Universities to operate, is intended to create room for effective mentoring and qualitative growth within the first three years of their operations.

“It should be noted that, Substantive Licence will only be issued to the Universities if they are adjudged as being well-governed after the three years of probation following their respective performance and growth, within guidelines stipulated by the Commission,”

He restate the government’s comitement towards strengthening of the National Universities Commission’s quality assurance operations, so as not to compromise on its quality and relevance.

The Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission(NUC), Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, earlier in his remarks said the insurance of licences is to ensure universities becomes more accessible.

The ES noted that apart from the licences, the Commission will keep an eye on the governance of the private universities, to ensure adherence to best practices in support of quality University education delivery, as it is not ready to sacrifice access at the detriment of quality that would be offered.

The approval of the four Universities, brings the number of private universities in the Country to 79, Federal Universities to 43, state universities to 47, making it a total of 169 Universities in Nigeria.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *