Connect with us


Ikpeazu inaugurates ABSU governing council, approves 3 months salary arrears payment



Ikpeazu inaugurates ABSU governing council, approves 3 months salary arrears payment

Govwrnor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia has
inaugurated the governing council of Abia State University, Uturu (ABSU)with a charge to facilitate the development of the university.

Speaking during the event on Wednesday at the Government House, Umuahia, Ikpeazu said that the university occupied an important place in the comity of universities in Nigeria.

The governor charged them to evolve programmes that would encourage excellence as well as  improved productivity among students and staff of the university.

He recalled that the institution grew from the 97th to 26th position to become the second best State university in Nigeria and  recently won an award from Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

He said that the sterling achievements of the institution could only be sustained if students remain on campus.

Ikpeazu inaugurates ABSU governing council, approves 3 months salary arrears payment

 Ikpeazu said that Abia government had released the sum of N200 million to support the University in the  payment of three months salary owed the staff of the university.

 He said that plans were underway to improve the  welfare of staff and added that government had taken steps to enhance security of life and property in the university and its environs.

Ikpeazu expressed optimism that the institution would record more achievements  under the watch of the newly inaugurated council, and promised that government would ensure regular release of subventions.

He congratulated the Pro Chancellor and members of the Council and urged them to work together.

Responding, Chief Mba Ukariwe, the Chairman of the council, expressed gratitude for the opportunity to serve, adding that it was an honour to contribute to educational development in Abia.

Ukariwe said that the members of the council would live up to expectation as they were poised to commence work immediately to restore normalcy in the university.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the members of the governing council include Chief Obinna Njoku, Chief Chibuike Nwokeukwu, Mrs Precious Achumba, Chief Ndukwu Ndukwu,

Others are Mr  Ogbonnaya Uwadiegwu, Mr Nwaro Kenneth Offor, Mr Eze Ajuzie and the management of the institution.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *