Connect with us


Lebanon fails to elect new president for 5th time



Lebanon fails to elect new president for 5th time
Lebanon’s parliament on Thursday failed to elect a new president as political parties could not yet agree on a figure for the vacant presidential seat, local media reported.

The voting session, which 108 deputies attended out of 128, resulted in 44 votes for parliament member Michel Mouawad, six votes for University Prof. Issam Khalife and one vote for former Interior Minister, Ziad Baroud.

Lebanon fails to elect new president for 5th time

Also, former Secretary General of Lebanon’s High Council for Privatisation, Ziad Hayek has one vote, as well as 47 blank votes, and scattered votes for political slogans.

This is the fifth time the parliament has failed to elect a successor to former President Michel Aoun whose term ended on Oct. 31, plunging the country into further political uncertainty.

Lebanon’s presidency has been vacant several times before in light of political differences among the parties governing the country.

Lebanon’s House Speaker, Nabih Berri called for another parliamentary session to be held on Nov. 17 for the election of a new president.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2022 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *