Connect with us

Newspapers Today

Police Service Commission Promotes Over 100 Senior Officers (FULL NAMES)



The Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the appointment of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) Yahaya Sahabo Abubakar as Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG).

Prior to this, Abubakar was the AIG overseeing Zone 14 Katsina. Abubakar will now represent the North East in the Police Management Team, taking over from DIG Habu Sani, who recently retired as DIG Force Intelligence Bureau.

Additionally, the Commission approved the promotion of 122 senior police officers. This includes 10 Commissioners of Police elevated to AIGs, 15 Deputy Commissioners promoted to Commissioners, and 36 Assistant Commissioners raised to Deputy Commissioners. Furthermore, 61 Chief Superintendents were promoted to Assistant Commissioners of Police.

These decisions were made during an extraordinary Management Meeting of the Commission on June 6, 2024, chaired by Solomon Arase, the Chairman of the Commission.

The 15 Deputy Commissioners of Police, 10 Commissioners, and AIG Abubakar appeared before the Commission for a mandatory interactive promotion interview, a prerequisite for their elevation.

During these sessions, the Commission Chairman emphasized the need for effective policing and internal security management, highlighting the importance of a knowledge-driven police force equipped with strategic operational procedures.

Arase urged the officers to be dedicated to their duty of ensuring the security of Nigeria by safeguarding lives and property and combating crime effectively. He also assured that the Commission would ensure regular and predictable promotions for officers and men.

The Commissioners of Police promoted to AIGs include Ahmed Ammani, Mohammed Dankwara Adamu, Gumel Mohammed Usaini, Hamzat Adebola Ayinde, Okuoma Idegwu Basil, Achinyan Zachary Fera, Baba Zango Ibrahim, Mohammed Isyaku, and Margaret Agebe Ochalla.

Deputy Commissioners promoted to Commissioners include Bassey Samuel Ewah, Osagie John Agans-Irabor, Edem Ita Selong, Monday Agbonika, Michael Okoh, Ayodele Oluyemi Sonubi, Iyama Daniel Edobor, Isa Danladi Nda, Akaniyene Ifebem Ezima, and Livingston Ikioye Orutugu.

Other newly promoted Commissioners are Bello Rashid Afegbua, Hycenth Azuka Edozie, Haruna Alaba Yahaya, Peter Ozigi Umoru, and Ayotunde Godwin Omodeinde.

Among the Assistant Commissioners elevated to Deputy Commissioners are Obo Ukam Obo, Musibau Adeola Adedoyin, Lawal Bamidele Adeshina, Anthony Okon Placid, Onyeamu Akaeme Onyeamu, Suleiman K. Bayonle, Asuquo Effiong, Mustapha A. Rufai, Victor Akongtendor Bepeh, Chinedu Ugwu, Kingsley Ifeanyi Woke, Issah Onize Lawal, and Ifeanyi Aham Ohuruzo.

IGP Egbetokun deploys newly-promoted officers, tasks them on professionalism | The Guardian Nigeria News – Nigeria and World News — Nigeria — The Guardian Nigeria News – Nigeria and World News

The list of promoted officers has been sent to the Inspector General of Police for implementation and necessary actions.

Facebook Comments Box
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.

Contact: [email protected]

Download ROYAL NEWS app