Connect with us


Senate confirms 7 Consumer Protection nominees, rejects Apata



Senate has confirmed the appointments of seven nominees to the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission forwarded to it by President Muhammadu Buhari.
The upper legislative chamber, however, rejected Mrs. Yinka Osoba Akpata as Executive Commissioner to represent the South West on the commission.
The confirmation of the nominees followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Trade and Investment, chaired by Senator Francis Fadahunsi (PDP Osun East).
In his presentation, Senator Fadahunsi, said that the panel recommended Akpata’s rejection as a result of her failure to appear before the committee for screening.
The nominees confirmed are: Barr. Emeka Nwakpa, Chairman (South-East); AVM Wakili Abdullahi Ahmed, Non-Executive Commissioner (North-West); Adamu Ahmed Abdullahi, Executive Commissioner (North-East); Babatunde Irukera, and Executive Vice Chairman/CEO (North-Central).
Others include: Ben Obi Nwoye, Non-Executive Commissioner (South-East); Theophilus Oyebiyi, Non-Executive Commissioner (North-Central); and Ayang Francis Eyam, Non-Executive Commissioner (South-South).
Meanwhile, the upper legislative chamber has forwarded six confirmation requests by President Buhari to relevant committees for further legislative work.
The Senate President, Dr. Ahmad Lawan, during plenary referred the President’s request for the confirmation of the chairman and members of the National Commission for Persons with Disabilities to the Committee on Youths and Sports.
Also referred were the requests for the confirmation of Professor Mahmood Yakubu as Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission; and nomination of Professor Abdullahi Abdu Zuru as INEC Commisioner.
Both requests were referred to the Senate Committee on INEC chaired by Senator Kabiru Gaya (APC Kano South).
In a related development, the confirmation of the nominations of members of the Governing Council of the Hydroelectric Power Producing Areas Development Commission (HYPADEC); and appointments of Chairman, Vice Chairman and Commissioner for the Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission were both referred to the Senate Committee on Power.
Also, the confirmation of the nomination of Chief Onyemuche Nnamani as member of the Police Service Commission was referred by the Senate President to the Committee on Police Affairs.
The Committees were all given four weeks to report back to the Senate.

Facebook Comments Box
Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *