Connect with us


Senate hints on Electoral Offences Bill for 2023 elections



Senate hints on Electoral Offences Bill for 2023 elections

Senate Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Tuesday, assured that the Electoral Offences Bill would be ready for the 2023 general elections.

Chairman of the committee, Senator Kabiru Gaya (APC Kano South), dropped the hint during the screening of 19 Residents Electoral Commissioners, RECs nominated recently for reappointment and fresh appointments by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The committee, however, received petitions against the nominations of Muhammad Lawal Bashir from Sokoto State; Pauline Onyeka Ugochi (Imo) and Dr. Oliver Tersoo, a nominee from Benue State, respectively for being members of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC and the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

In his opening speech, Senator Gaya said that the committee is working round the clock to ensure that INEC conducts free, fair and credible elections in 2023.

According to the chairman, the committee has already forwarded the Electoral Offences Bill to Technical Committee in the House of Representatives for legislative action.

He said: “The National Assembly is unwaivering in making sure that the Independent National Electoral Commission succeeds in its assignment.

“It will interest you to know that the National Electoral Offences Bill is presently being worked on by a technical committee in the House of Representatives, the legislative intent is to ensure that INEC concentrates on the administration of elections while electoral offenders are brought to book to deter others and build a positive electoral culture for our nation.”

Speaking on the preparation for 2023 general election, Senator Gaya said that the preparation for the 2023 elections is in top gear, adding that it is an opportunity to prepare Nigerians for social, political and economic elevations.

It would be recalled that President Buhari had in July this year transmitted the names of 19 nominees as Resident Electoral Commissioners to the Senate for confirmation.

The renewal nominees for confirmation are Ibrahim Abdullahi from Adamawa State; Obo Effanga (Cross River); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba); Agboke Olaleke (Ogun); and Samuel Egwu (Kogi).

Nominees for fresh appointments are Onyeka Ugochi from Imo; Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto); Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo); Zango Abdu (Katsina); Queen Agwu (Ebonyi); Agundu Tersoo (Benue); Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta); Prof. Yahaya Ibrahim (Kaduna); Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Garki (FCT); Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Prof. Uzochukwu Chijioke (Anambra) and Mohammed Nura from Yobe State, respectively.

Facebook Comments Box
Senate hints on Electoral Offences Bill for 2023 elections

Copyright 2022 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *