Connect with us


Senate releases names of 56-member constitution review



President of the Senate, Dr. Ahmad Lawan, has named a 56-member Constitution Review Committee to handle all bills seeking for one alteration or the other in the provisions of the 1999 Constitution as amended.
This was even as the only senator representing the Young Progressives Party, YPP, Ifeanyi Uba (Anambra South) kicked against his exclusion from the committee, pointing out that the whole membership of the committee, was drawn from both the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC and the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, which he said was unfair.
The committee, chaired by the Deputy Senate President, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, consists of eight principal officers who are to serve on the steering committee while a senator from each of the 36 states of the Federation and two senators from each of the six geo-political zones would serve in the larger committee.
Members of the committee are the Senate Leader, Abdullahi Yahaya; his deputy, Prof. Ajayi Boroffice; Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe; his deputy, Senator Emmanuel Bwacha; Minority Whip, Senator Philip Tanimu Aduda and his deputy, Senator Sahabi Ya’u.
Those named to represent states on the committee are Senators Theodore Orji (PDP Abia Central), Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (APC Adamawa Central), Stella Oduah (PDP Anambra North), Albert Bassey Akpan (PDP Akwa Ibom North East) and Dauda Jika (APC Bauchi Central).
Others are Senators Degi Eremienyo (APC Bayelsa East), Gabriel Suswam (PDP Benue North East), Abubakar Kyari (APC Borno North), Gershom Bassey (PDP Cross River South), James Manager (PDP Delta South), Sam Egwu (PDP Ebonyi North) , Mathew Urhoghide (PDP Edo South ) and Bamidele Opeyemi (APC Ekiti Central).
The rest include the former Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu (PDP Enugu West), Danjuma Goje (APC Gombe Central), Rochas Okorocha (APC Imo West), Muhammad Sabo  (APC Jigawa South West), Uba Sani (APC Kaduna Central), Kabiri Gaya (APC Kano South) and Ahmed Baba Kaita (APC Katsina North).
Others are Senators Adamu Aleiro ( APC Kebbi Central), Smart Adeyemi (APC Kogi West), Sadiq Umar (APC Kwara North), Oluremi Tinubu (APC Lagos Central), Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa West), Sani Musa (APC Niger East), Ibikunle Amosun (APC Ogun Central), Nicholas Tofowomo (PDP Ondo South), Bashiru Ajibola (APC Osun Central) and Teslim Folarin (APC Oyo Central).
The rest are Senators Dimka Ayuba (APC Plateau Central), George Sekibo (PDP Rivers East), Aliyu Wammako (APC Sokoto North), Yusuf A. Yusuf (APC Taraba Central), Ibrahim Gaidam (APC Yobe East) and Hassan Gusau (PDP Zamfara Central).
Those representing the zones on  the committee are Senators Bala Ibn Na’Allah (APC Kebbi South) and Ibrahim Shekarau (APC Kano Central) for the North West geo-political zone while Senators Kashim Shettima (APC Borno Central) and Lawal Gumau (APC Bauchi South) are for the North East
Senators Lilian Ekwunife (PDP Anambra Central) and Chukwuka Utazi (PDP Enugu North), are to represent the South East geo- political zone while Senators Eyinkenyi Etim (PDP Akwa Ibom South) and Rose Oko (PDP Cross River North) are for South South zone on the committee.
Those for the South West geo-political zone are Senators Abdulfatahi Buhari (APC Oyo North) and Biodun Olujimi (PDP Ekiti South) while the North Central has Senators Umar Tanko Al-Makura (APC Nasarawa North) and Yakubu Oseni (APC Kogi Central).
However Senator Ifeanyi Uba (YPP Anambra South), kicked against his exclusion from the committee, but the Senate President in his response, said the committee composition was not basis on party membership but on states and zonal.
“This composition is not about party affiliation but of equal representation from states and geo political zones,  since the assignment before the committee is for the interest of Nigeria and Nigerians devoid of partisanship,”  he said.
For the committee members , Lawan admonished them to be very patriotic in their conducts and activities, saying “what is expected of you is to give Nigerians, constitution that will enhance stability, unity and enabling environment that will afford every Nigerian to actualise his or her dreams without let or hindrance.”
He therefore called on all Nigerians seeking for alteration in any of the provisions of the 1999 constitution, to submit their memoranda to the committee.

Facebook Comments Box
Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *