Connect with us


Yobe Speaker, Deputy emerge unopposed



The Yobe State House of Assembly has elected the Speaker and deputy speaker of its seventh assembly.

Mr. Ahmed Lawan Mirwa, representing Nguru II constituency and  Mr. Auwalu Isa Bello of Mamudo constituency were both elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively on Monday.

The two were elected unopposed by the 24 members of the chamber.

The Clerk of the House, Ishaku Mohammed, had conducted a roll call to ensure the presence of all the 24 members in the chamber before the election began.

The Clerk ordered for the commencement of the process after the roll call and the assurance that the quorum had been formed.

Mr. Buba Kalallawa, representing Damaturu constituency moved the motion for the nomination of Mr. Ahmed Lawan Mirwa as Speaker, which was seconded by the member representing Fika, Ishaku Audu.

The clerk, subsequently announced for further nomination which was not made and had to declared Mirwa as duly elected Speaker of the House.

The motion for the nomination of Auwal Isa Bello, was moved by Bulama Bukar, representing Gujba constituency, and was seconded by Ahmed Musa Dumbulwa of Yunusari constituency.

As in the case of the Speaker, there was no further nomination for the Deputy, and Bello was declared elected.

Both the speaker and his deputy accepted the nomination and promised to work in the interest of the party and the good people of Yobe state.

The oath was subsequently administered on them and the Seventh Assembly was inaugurated.

Facebook Comments Box
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.

Contact: [email protected]

Download ROYAL NEWS app