Connect with us


APC candidate, Lyon David declared Bayelsa Gov-Elect



APC candidate, Lyon David declared Bayelsa Gov-Elect

Lyon David

Chief David Lyon, the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has been declared winner of the governorship election held in Bayelsa State on Saturday.

It is the first time an opposition will win governorship election in the state in 20 years of Nigeria’s Fourth Republic democracy.

Lyon polled 352,552 to defeat his rival from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Duoye Diri, who got 143,172  votes, according to officials results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

INEC’s Returning Officer of the election and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin, Professor Faraday Orunmuwese, around 1:03am on Monday declared Lyon winner of the poll.

He said, Lyon, having satisfied the electoral criteria by scoring the highest number of vote cast was hereby declared winner of the governorship poll.

The APC recorded more than a landslide result in Southern Ijaw, polling a gargantuan 124,803 votes against the PDP’s 4,898 votes. The result is certainly APC’s joker in the poll.

APC candidate, Lyon David declared Bayelsa Gov-Elect

Official results in the eight local government had APC’s Lyon winning with 352,552 while PDP’s Duoye Diri has 143,172.

In Ogbia, the local government of former President Goodluck Jonathan has Lyon in massive win. Lyon got a massive vote of 58,016 to defeat the PDP’s candidate, Douye Diri who scored 13,763 votes.

Also, Lyon won massively in Nembe, the local government of former Governor of the State and Minister of State of Petroleum, Timipre Sylva.

Lyon won by a landslide in Nembe, polling 83,041, as against Diri’s paltry votes of 874.

However, Lyon suffered a massive loss in the Sagbama Local Government Area, home of Governor Seriake Dickson.

The PDP recorded a landslide in Dickson’s LGA, polling 60,339, while the APC scored 7,831 votes. Accord Party got 131 votes.

In Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA,  APC polled 8,934 to lose to the PDP, which scored 15,360.

In Brass LG, APC claimed victory, with a total vote of 23,831, while PDP got  10,410 votes.

In Ekeremor Local Government, Lyon polled 21,489 votes to edge out PDP’s Diri, who scored 18,344 votes.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *