Connect with us


ICC acknowledges Akintoye, Igboho’s petition against Buhari



ICC acknowledges Akintoye, Igboho’s petition against Buhari

The International Criminal Court has acknowledged a 27-page petition filed by Yoruba Nation agitators against President Muhammadu Buhari.

The petition was signed by the Leader of Ilana Omo Oodua, Emeritus Professor Banji Akintoye; Yoruba Activist, Sunday Igboho; and other 49 persons fighting for the actualization of Oduduwa Republic, an agitated sovereign state for the Yoruba Yoruba nation.

Aside from President Buhari, the petition was also filed against the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami, SAN; former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai; and former Inspectors General of Police, Ibrahim Idris and Muhammed Adamu.

The Yoruba Nation agitators had petitioned the government officials over alleged genocide against the Yoruba people of Southwestern Nigeria.

ICC acknowledges Akintoye, Igboho’s petition against Buhari

In a fresh development, the ICC’s Head of Information and Evidence Unit of the Office of the Prosecutor, Mr. Mark P. Dilon, on Tuesday, sent a letter to the petitioners’ lawyer saying the “communication has been duly entered in the Communications Register of the Office.”

“We will give consideration to this communication, as appropriate, in accordance with the provisions of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court.

“As soon as a decision is reached to formally commence investigation into this petition, we will inform you, in writing, and provide you with reasons for this decision,” he added.

Facebook Comments Box
ICC acknowledges Akintoye, Igboho’s petition against Buhari

Copyright 2022 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *