Connect with us


Lagos by-elections: INEC delivers non-sensitive materials to LGAs — Spokesman



Lagos by-elections: INEC delivers non-sensitive materials to LGAs — Spokesman

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Lagos State said that it had delivered non-sensitive materials for the Saturday’s Lagos East Senatorial and Kosofe Constituency II House of Assembly by-elections to all the five affected councils in the area.

INEC spokesman, Femi Akinbiyi, told ROYAL NEWS on Tuesday in Lagos that the commission would soon receive the sensitive materials for the elections.

Akinbiyi said that the receipt of the materials would be in the full glare of the political parties’ representatives, election observers and the media.

“The non-sensitive materials have been delivered to various local governments already, and they have been batched into various registration areas (Wards).

“We are not leaving any stone unturned in our preparations to conduct free, fair, credible and acceptable by-elections on Saturday in Lagos East Senatorial District and Kosofe State Constituency II,” INEC PRO said.

Akinbiyi said that the INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr Sam Olumekun, has advised the people to come out en mass to exercise their franchise on Saturday in a peaceful and orderly manner.

He said that the commissioner was poised about conducting elections that everyone including all participating political parties would be proud of.

He said that INEC in collaboration with security agencies had made adequate arrangements for smooth and safe conduct of the election.

ROYAL NEWS reports that the five local government areas that make up the Lagos East Senatorial District are Somolu, Kosofe, Ikorodu, Epe and Ibeju-Lekki.

Lagos by-elections: INEC delivers non-sensitive materials to LGAs — Spokesman

Candidates from 12 political parties will be contesting in the Lagos East Senatorial by-elections while eight candidates will be contesting the Kosofe Constituency II, Lagos State House of Assembly by-elections.

The contestants for the senatorial election are: Muyiwa Adebanjo, Action Alliance (AA); Ms Mercy Adeoye, African Action Congress (AAC) and John Kome, African Democratic Congress (ADC).

Others are: Adebowale Ogunlaru, Action Democratic Party (ADP); Adetokunbo Abiru, All Progressives Congress (APC); Olusola Babatope, Allied Peoples Movement (APM); Mrs Florence Trautman, Labour Party (LP) and Ms Adijat Lawal, New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The rest are: Babatunde Gbadamosi, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); Akin Olukunle, National Rescue Movement (NRM); Saheed Aluko, Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Taiwo Temitope, Young Progressive Party (YPP).

The eight contestants for the Kosofe Constituency II bye-election are: John Akerele, AA; Sadiq Olawale, AAC; Wasiu Saheed, APC; Adekunle Oladapo, LP; Muyideen Agoro, NNPP; Ademorin Adelaja, NRM; Sikiru Alebiosu, PDP and Mrs Mary Abojeh, ADC.

The two by-elections, slated for Dec. 5, became necessary following the demise of the former occupants who were members of APC.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *