Connect with us

Top stories

Obasanjo Foundation wins Igbere TV award



Obasanjo Foundation wins Igbere TV award

The Olusegun Obasanjo Foundation (OOF) has won the 2020 Humanitarian Foundation of the Year award, conducted by the Igbere TV, a foremost community Television station based in the hilly town of Igbere, the home town of former Governors Amadi Ikwechegh (Imo), Emma Ukaegbu (Anambra) and Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia).

The Igere TV award programme is endorsed by the African Union Economic, Social and Cultural Council (AU-ECOSOCC), an advisory body of the African Union (AU), designed to give Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) a voice within the AU institutions and decision-making processes.

In the voting which last seven days, via online platforms monitored by ROYAL NEWS, OOF, founded by the former President, beat four other nominees to emerge winner.

ROYAL NEWS reports that the other nominees were the Shehu Musa Yar’adua Foundation, the Goodluck Jonathan Foundation, the Atiku Care Foundation and the Abdulsalami Abubakar Foundation.

Obasanjo Foundation wins Igbere TV award

Obasanjo Foundation wins Igbere TV award

The awards presentations, slated for 10 December, will recognise and honour outstanding impacts of leaders across several sectors and industries in Nigeria. The award also applauds excellence, achievements, performance, humanitarian activities and philanthropic gestures.

Some of the awardees include, Chief Innocent Chukwuma, Chairman of Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Co. Ltd. (Car Maker of the Year); Chief Alex Ikwechegh, Founder of Alex Ikwechegh Foundation (Personality of the Year).

Others are Rt Hon (Engr) Chinedum Orji, Speaker, Abia State House of Assembly (Speaker of the Year); Apostle Chinyere Chibuzor, General Overseer, Omega Power Ministries (Most Outstanding Humanitarian of the Year) among others.

ROYAL NEWS reports that some of the award categories include Man of the Year, Best Performing Governor of the Year, Businessman of the Year, Best Performing Minister of the Year and Best Performing LGA Chairman of the Year, among others.

ROYAL NEWS also reports that the 2019 edition of the Igbere TV Leadership Excellence Awards saw distinguished and prominent captains of industry, public figures and leaders cling on to the various Award categories.

Prominent awardees included President Muhammadu Buhari, United States-based Nigerian medical doctor, Dr Godwin Maduka; former President Goodluck Jonathan, former House of Reps Speaker, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Dogara; Minister Rotimi Amaechi, Senator Rochas Okorcha, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu state, among others.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2022 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *