Connect with us


10th NASS: Govs will support Tinubu’s choice, says Makinde



The Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, on Monday, disclosed that the Governors’ Forum had reached a compromise to support the President, Bola Tinubu, on his choice for Senate leadership.

Makinde, who is the Vice-Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum, made this known during a post-inauguration Special Interdenominational thanksgiving service organised by the state chapter of the Christian Association of Nigeria in conjunction with Fathers of Faith, which was held at Oritamefa Baptist Church, Total Garden, Ibadan.

He said, “We already have a president that is of Islamic faith, and a vice president that is of same faith, number three is going to be the Senate President. I’m saying it publicly that all the governors in Nigeria came together and said we will support the choice of the president who is a Christian from the South-South region of Nigeria.

“We are not playing religious politics, but what is fair is fair. We stood for Southerner Presidency, we stood for justice, we stood for fairness and we are going to stand for equity.

“So, I will be at the National Assembly tomorrow (Tuesday), even though I wasn’t elected a Senator and I have never been elected one. I will be there with my other colleagues and ensure that the principle of fairness, justice and equity prevails in the election of the president of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

The governor, who read the first lesson from Psalm 100, expressed his appreciation to the Christian body for their spiritual support, assuring them that the gesture would serve as a motivation for him to rededicate his life to the service of the state.

Earlier, the state CAN Chairman, Joshua Akinyemiju, described the governor as a political apostle and a covenant child of God who brought accountability and probity to the governance of the state.

Dignitaries at the event included the state Deputy Governor, Bayo Lawal, the state Chief Judge, Iyabo Yerima, the former First Lady of the state, Mutiat Ladoja, former Deputy Governor, Taofeek Arapaja, Senator Monsurat Sunmonu, Senator Ayoola Agboola and the state Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Dayo Ogungbenro.

Others included the state Head of Service, Olubunmi Oni, Chief of Staff, Segun Ogunwuyi, PDP chieftain, Saka Balogun, Niyi Akintola (SAN), the Olubadan of Ibadanland was represented by High Chief Owolabi Olakuleyin, as well as religious leaders.

Facebook Comments Box
Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app