Connect with us


NPSA set to confer ‘Fellowship Award’ on Gambari, Bande, 5 others



Arrangements have been concluded by the Nigerian Political Science Association (NPSA), to confer its Fellowship on eminent scholars in the field of Political Science including the immediate Chief of Staff to the former Nigerian President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari, among others.

This is on the backdrop of the condemnation of the current challenges facing the country as contained in statement issued by its President, Prof. Hassan Salihu, ahead of the 34th National Conference scheduled to hold in Lokoja, Kogi state.

The conference, according to him became imperative as a responsory to numerous challenges facing the country stressing that, “The cost of living is unbearable, so also is the security situation unnerving. The level of national unity and cohesion is nervous.”

“The story is not different from the external sector where it is apparent that there is a reduction in the level of influence that the country enjoys in inter-state relations.”

“Indeed, the list of the concerns is growing, as we note the efforts of government at all levels to steer the nation away from these concerns. As a body of intellectuals, our Association is equally worried about the shape of things in our nation.

“As a response to the situation, the Nigerian Political Science Association, NPSA, in keeping with its motto of promoting democracy for development, is planning to intervene once again on Nigeria’s issues. This time around in the form of a conference.”

Saliu added that, “The theme of this year’s conference is “Governance and Nation-Building in Nigeria: Options for Policy.”

The Association however said it settled for this theme because it strongly believe that all the major problems facing Nigeria are governance-induced, and the stress of nation-building being experienced, a major fallout of the governance architecture.

“Based on this conviction, the 34th Conference of our Association, holding at the Federal University, Lokoja on the 29th and 30th of April, 2024 will be devoted to interrogating the two basic issues. The objective of the conference is to come up with suggestions that can assist policy makers in overcoming the challenges. A number of sub-themes have been chosen to guide participants and achieve the objective of the conference.”

“The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Right Honourable Tajudeen Abass, will be the Chairman at the occasion, while the Vice-President, His Excellency, Senator Shettima Kassim GCON, will be the Distinguished Special Guest of Honour. The Keynote Speaker is Dr. Kayode Fayemi CON, former Governor of Ekiti State. Professor Victor Adetula will be the Lead Paper Presenter at the conference.

“National Chairmen of the three leading political parties, senators, members of HoR and some other important personalities are being expected as Special Guests of Honour. The Chief Host for the conference is the Executive Governor of Kogi State, His Excellency, Alhaji Ahmed Usman Ododo, while the host is the Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University, Lokoja, Professor Olayemi Akinwumi.

“The highlight of the conference is the award of fellows of the NPSA to seven distinguished members of the Association.

They are:

1. Professor Ibrahim Gambari, former Minister of External Affairs and the immediate past CoS to President Muhammadu Buhari.

2. Professor Sam Oyovbaire, former President of NPSA and ex-Minister, Ministry of Information and Culture.

3. Professor Elochukwu Amucheazi, former Pro-Chancellor and ex- DG, National Orientation Agency, NOA.

4. Professor Alaba Ogunsanwo, foundation member of NPSA and former Nigeria’s Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg and the EU.

5. Professor Tijjani Bande, former DG, NIPSS and ex-Nigeria’s Permanent Representative to the UN.

6. Professor Istifanus Zabadi, former Commissioner and ex-Provost, National Defence College, Abuja.

7. Professor Marieatu Tenuche, Vice-Chancellor, Prince Abubakar Audu University, Anyigba and a delegate to National Constitutional Conference, 2014.

“Arrival for the conference is the 28th of April, while the departure is the 1st of May, 2024.”

Facebook Comments Box
Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app