Connect with us


Newly promoted Brigadier Generals decorated, tasked on command philosophy



In a ceremony held at the Tukur Yusuf Buratai Auditorium Army War College Nigeria (AWCN) in Asokoro, Abuja, Major General Ishaya Buba Maina, the Commandant AWCN, charged newly promoted Brigadier Generals to redouble their efforts towards achieving the Chief of Army Staff’s (COAS) Command Philosophy.

The decoration ceremony, which took place on January 8, 2024, saw the promotion of a total of seven senior officers, six from the Nigerian Army and one from the Nigerian Navy.

During the ceremony, General Maina emphasized the increased responsibilities that come with the new rank and urged the decorated senior officers to not only meet, but exceed the expectations associated with their ranks. He specifically highlighted the significance of aligning their efforts with the COAS Command Philosophy, emphasizing the need for strategic and critical thinking in the senior officer’s various endeavors.

He equally charged them to be more exemplary as Members of Faculty in the College, be senior officers of honour, and distinguished in character. The Commandant emphasized that the senior officers should redouble their commitment to achieving the objectives of AWCN towards producing well-trained, educated, and inspired operational level leaders for the Nigerian Army.

Earlier, Brigadier General Aminu Umar, the Deputy Commandant and Director of Studies AWCN, delivered a welcome address acknowledging the hard work, dedication to service, and diligence exhibited by the newly promoted officers. Their elevation to the rank of Brigadier General was viewed as a testament to their commitment and contributions not only to the College, but the military at large. He added.

The seven officers who were decorated during the ceremony include Colonel Nelson Chidiebere Okafor, Colonel Momanie Okon Edide, Colonel Anayochukwu Nwankwo Eze, Colonel Ahmed Olatubosun Balogun, Colonel Nnabueze Emmanuel Okoloagu, Colonel Anwar Abdullahi, and Captain (NN) Akinrinsola Obileke Obisesan. All seven officers are members of the 47 Regular Course.

Expressing gratitude on behalf of the newly promoted officers, Brigadier General NC Okafor delivered the vote of thanks, extending appreciation to the Chief of Army Staff, the Commandant AWCN, and all faculty members for their significant contributions.

Hashimu Sa”ad Abdullahi
College Public Relations Officer

Facebook Comments Box
Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.

Contact: [email protected]

Download ROYAL NEWS app