Connect with us


Nigeria, 6 other countries to suffer US travel restriction



Nigeria, 6 other countries to suffer US travel restrictionNigeria and other six African and Asian countries may soon face travel restrictions placed by the United State President, Donald Trump.
Government officials who have seen the list said new restrictions would apply to travelers and immigrants from Nigeria, Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Sudan and Tanzania.

A senior Trump administration official said that countries that failed to comply with security requirements, including biometrics, information-sharing and counter-terrorism measures, would be affected.

The countries wouldn’t necessarily face blanket bans on travel to the U.S., but could have restrictions placed on specific types of visas, such as business or visitor visas, government officials said.

Nigeria, 6 other countries to suffer US travel restriction

Some countries could be banned from participating in the diversity visa lottery program.

The officials said the list isn’t final, and on Tuesday the White House was still debating whether to include one or two of the countries.

The planned restrictions might be implemented on Monday, WSJ said.

The president has since said its policy restricting travel is necessary to prevent potential acts of terrorism, as countries on the list don’t adequately vet their travelers to the U.S.

This is not the first time Trump will place travel restrictions on countries.

Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, as well as some Venezuelan officials and their relatives are under different travel restrictions placed on them by Trump.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *