Connect with us


PDP Stakeholders Sign Pact Ahead Of Dec. 9 Nat. Convention



PDP Stakeholders Sign Pact Ahead Of Dec. 9 Nat. ConventionThe eight contenders for the National Chairmanship of the Peoples Democratic Party have agreed to work with any of them elected at the party’s National Convention on Dec. 9.

Read also: PDP Senator joins APC

Chairman of PDP Governors Forum, Governor Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti, made the disclosure at a news briefing in the early hours of Monday after a five and half hour closed-door meeting in Enugu.

Fayose said that the governors met to deliberate on the forthcoming national convention and discussed with the chairmanship aspirants.

Read also: Davido Emerge African Best Artist

According to him, the forthcoming PDP convention will serve as a template for future conventions in the country.

“We put PDP first and PDP is first. We are leaving Enugu believing that we will take power at the centre in 2019.”

Fayose flanked by other PDP governors expressed the belief that the party would win the Nov. 18 governorship poll in Anambra.

“We believe we will take over Anambra if the election is free, fair and credible. Read also: Gov. Ganduje presents N209.8bn budget proposal for 2017

PDP Stakeholders Sign Pact Ahead Of Dec. 9 Nat. Convention

“Nigeria is of age to conduct election that is acceptable internationally,” he said.

Governors at the meeting were, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Enugu; Okezie Ikpeazu, Abia; Darius Ishaku, Taraba; Ibrahim Dankwambo, Gombe.

Others were Emmanuel Udom, Akwa-Ibom; Ben Ayade, Cross River; Ifeanyi Okowa, Delta; Seriake Dickson, Bayelsa; Nyesom Wike, River, while Ebonyi was represented by the deputy governor.

Of the eight chairmanship aspirants, South-west had six while South-South had two.

They are Bode George, Jimi Agbaje, Taoheed Adedoja, Tunde Adeniran, Rasheed Ladoja, Gbenga Daniel, Raymond Dokpesi and Uche Secondus.

Former governors at the meeting were Gabriel Suswam of Benue and Godswill Akpabio of Akwa-Ibom.

Read also: Photo News: 5th Kwara Open Golf Tournament in Ilorin Golf

The meeting was also attended by former External Affairs Minister, Tom Ikimi, Kema Chikwe, former Senate President Adolphus Wabara, and incumbent Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu.

Facebook Comments Box

Copyright 2023 ROYAL NEWS. All rights reserved. Digital material on this website, may not be published, reproduced, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from ROYAL NEWS.


Download ROYAL NEWS app

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *